Home_greyopenFATE - openSUSE feature tracking > #309711
Dashboard | Search | Sign up | Login

Please login or register to be able to edit or vote this feature.

do not quit "Install/Remove Software" after it's done

Feature state

Hackweek V
Duplicate of #307942
openSUSE-11.3
Duplicate of #307942

Description

It's a litte weird that when the software manager finishes installing the new softwares (packages) it quits automatically. I often want to intall more packages or see what happened during the install.

Most of the times i don't watch all the installation process. I just minimize it and go do something else. I just want to come back and see what if the process went all fine, but it quits with no messages.

I don't know if there's a reason for this behaviour, but i think it would be nicer if it comes back to the package selection screen with a message.

Relations

  • Duplicate of feature #307942:
  • Duplicate of feature #307942:

Discussion


icons/user_comment.png T. Z. wrote: (7 years ago)

I think you're right, for me, this is the only with Packagemanagement left on openSUSE.

icons/user_comment.png T. Z. wrote: (7 years ago)

I think you're right, for me, this is the only problem with Packagemanagement left on openSUSE.

icons/user_comment.png K. E. wrote: (7 years ago)

I think, only the gtk UI suffers from this missing feature.

icons/user_comment.png A. B. wrote: (7 years ago)

Hi Karl!

The gtk UI in openSUSE 11.3 (as of Milestone 7) no longer misses this feature. It is implemented as a confirmation dialog that pops up when you select all required packages for installation. The dialog-box shows the amount of downloads YaST will make, and has a check-box that reads "Close window when finished" or something similar. If you un-check it then you are returned to the package-manager after installation of all the packages. The interface also remembers your previous choice, so that if you like the window not closing you can de-select this just once and returning to the package manager after the installation is done is the behaviour that will happen every time since then.

Hope that clarifies things.

icons/user_comment.png T. S. wrote: (7 years ago)

I confirm that (just found the check box). I must say it's not very obvious. Maybe it should default to "not close" ?

Last change: 7 years ago
Voting
Score: 10
  • Negative: 0
  • Neutral: 0
  • Positive: 10
Feature Export
Application-xmlXML   Text-x-logPlaintext   PrinterPrint